Sweet ‘Refreshment’

Happy Summer!

To help celebrate, here are two letters to teachers. I hope you enjoy them and consider submitting your own. Teachers, I’d love to publish the most memorable ones you’ve received.

The first is from a student in my colleague’s War and Literature class who’s joining the army after graduation. His note was scrawled inside the back cover of his Blue Book:

On a side note Ms. ___, that last story couldn’t have hit any closer to home. I enjoyed reading it and at times caught myself smiling and almost tearing up. I’m glad you put it in. Thank you for everything and all that you and the class has inspired me to do.

The story was “Refresh, Refresh” by Benjamin Percy. I just read it, and it’s fantastic.

The second note is one I received today, inside a card. No, the handwriting is not as clear, nor always grammatical, but I appreciate the time this student took to write to me, and feel encouraged by the idea that my class may have changed the way he thinks about art:

 Thank you for teaching me. In the beginning, after essay and essay about literary devices, I felt frustrated. But after mulling over all those 89s and lucky 91s, I noticed that I did learn something. I have a newfound appreciation of the arts. In movies I found myself commenting on color, (?) tones and etc. It’s very satisfying. Thank you, –.

4 thoughts on “Sweet ‘Refreshment’

  1. Pingback: Those Who Teach

  2. Pingback: Summer send-off for those who teach | Those Who Teach

Leave a Reply

